DEEP TIME

An expedition beyond time

AK7I1624.jpg
DeepTime-Crédit Human Adaptation Institu
AK7I1647.jpg
© Photo ADAPTATION INSTITUTE.jpg
Deep Time © Human Adaptation Institute 1
AK7I1314.jpg
AK7I1266.jpg

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

For 40 days, 15 people at the heart of an unprecedented expedition

During an exceptional period, an extraordinary expedition, in France: 40 days underground to learn the links between our brains and time, as well as with the capacity of functional synchronization within a group. This is a fundamental need for our future.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

On April 24, one of the most incredible human scientific expeditions of recent years ended: DEEP TIME “an exceptional scientific experiment never before carried out in a group” says Christian Clot. 15 team members who came to live in the Lombrives cave in Ariège, without access to sunlight or any time indicator, left the cave this morning at 10:30 am, after 40 days underground.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

“The announcement of the exit was for the team members, most of whom were only at the 30th cycle, or 30 days for them. ".

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The goals of this mission:

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

understand the adaptation of cerebral plasticity linked to time, the impacts of desynchronization in the face of a new life situation and the ability of a human group to find functional synchronization, when immersed in a totally new universe and in the absence of one of its major landmarks: time.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

“To date, there are no studies that allow us to know what is really going on in our brains in real life when they are living it. There were few opportunities to carry out scientific experiments, in conditions as specific as this one, ”Christian Clot reminds us. “This requires very specific experimental protocols, outside the laboratories, with innovative but well-tested methodologies” according to Stéphane Besnard, one of the scientific directors of the project.


It is a success in several respects. On the one hand, during the 40 days, more than 50 scientific protocols were carried out, from genetics to olfactory perceptions. On the other hand, despite difficult environmental conditions (10 ° C and 100% constant humidity, without natural light or time indicators), the design of the mission made the life of the group possible and to show the evolution of '' a collective synchronicities allowing the realization of the various works of the mission. The energy and will of Christian Clot and his teammates did the rest. This is how they arrived together at the end of the mission with a certain pleasure and the collective desire to continue it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Deep Time © Human Adaptation Institute 1.JPG

Conceived and directed by explorer-researcher Christian Clot for the Human Adaptation Institute, which was among the 15 underground, this mission brings together around thirty scientists from a dozen organizations, which conducted dozens of protocols before, during and after this voluntary confinement. Neurobiologist, ethologist, geneticist, cardiologist, psychologist and others, they will study this group both individually (cerebral plasticity, rhythm of life, biology, chronobiology, emotions, etc.) and collectively (group functioning, synchronicity, organizational systems, etc.).

WHY DEEP TIME?


Following the confinements and restrictions due to covid-19, which plunged 70% into states of mild or profound mental fatigue and caused nearly 40% of people to lose track of time (covadapt, 2020), and so As the changes will be more profound and numerous in the future, it is necessary to better understand human adaptive mechanisms in real life situations. This is the goal of the Grande Missions Adaptations, of which DEEP TIME is one.


While the work carried out by the precursor Michel Siffre has made it possible to better understand the human biological rhythms in isolated individuals, this research expedition will make it possible to study the human brain and its relationship to time and its plasticity in the face of a new situation of life as well as a mixed group rather than an isolated person, which has never been done in these conditions before. New living conditions, installation on new planets, work in restricted conditions, and more generally management of the profound changes that ecological changes or new technologies could make us undergo are possible applications of the results of the studies carried out during DEEP TIME.


In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

A scientific and social necessity

Today, it is necessary to carry out studies in a real situation, in which the subjects are evaluated before, during and after, allowing a precise evaluation of their evolution in the face of these new conditions. In a natural environment, we keep the fine perception of a real life translated via the emotions provoked by the environment, our sensoriality and our aptitude for wonder!

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

These contextualizations, in concreto, allow more precise observations, taking into account the sensory and emotional set that influences our decisions and actions at every moment of our lives. The chosen setting is not trivial since it brings natural sensations that are essential when studying humans when they are placed in new living conditions, fundamentally confusing for the mind and body.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

The base camp, a true demonstrator of the means of installing a place of life in improbable places, makes it possible to carry out our protocols by considering many key scientific parameters. Likewise, we benefit from the most advanced tools to carry out this project, as well as all the rigor necessary for the collection of data that will advance research, particularly in the axis of a better understanding of a potential future. more and more linked to the confinements of society.

© Photo ADAPTATION INSTITUTE.jpg

A mixed and non-professional group

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Led by Christian Clot, they were 7 women and 7 men from 27 to 50 years old to lead the adventure. Chosen after a rigorous process, they are neither professional nor specialist in difficult conditions, and come from different socio-professional backgrounds: communication manager, jeweler, rope access technician, analyst, teacher, biologist… It is essential today to carry out this work on mixed groups, still too absent from scientific protocols.


In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Why a cave, why Lombrives?

Rather than a laboratory or a bunker, a natural environment makes it possible to experience sensory emotions and a real relationship with an ecosystem while guaranteeing the absence of temporal benchmarks. Lombrives, the largest cave in Europe, also allows you to move around and explore a vast territory. Fundamental concepts for our adaptability.


Inside, places of life, science and basic habitats have been installed in order to create possible living conditions, and the cave itself is an important ground of discovery.

DEEP TIME

Une expédition au-delà du Temps

Crédit-Human Adaptation Institute-Reunio
AK7I1624.jpg
DeepTime-Crédit Human Adaptation Institu
AK7I1647.jpg
© Photo ADAPTATION INSTITUTE.jpg
Deep Time © Human Adaptation Institute 1
AK7I1314.jpg
AK7I1266.jpg
DeepTime-Credit Human Adaptation Institu
Pendant 40 jours, 15 personnes au cœur d'une expédition inédite

Durant une période exceptionnelle, une expédition hors du commun, en France : 40 jours sous terre pour apprendre les liens entre nos cerveaux et le temps, ainsi qu'avec la capacité de synchronisation fonctionnelle au sein d’un groupe. Il s'agit d'un besoin fondamental pour notre avenir.

Le 24 avril, s’est terminée l’une des plus incroyable expédition scientifique humaine de ces dernières années : DEEP TIME « une expérience scientifique exceptionnelle encore jamais réalisée en groupe  » nous dit Christian Clot. 15 équipiers venus vivre dans la grotte de Lombrives en Ariège, sans accès à la lumière du soleil ni aucun indicateur temporel sont sortis ce matin de la grotte à 10h30, après 40 jours sous terre.

« L’annonce de la sortie a été pour les équipiers dont la plupart n’était qu’au 30ème cycle, soit 30 jours pour eux. ».

Les buts de cette mission :

comprendre l’adaptation de la plasticité cérébrale lié au temps, les impacts de la désynchronisation face à une situation nouvelle de vie et la capacité d’un groupe humain à retrouver une synchronisation fonctionnelle, lorsque plongé dans un univers totalement nouveau et en l’absence de l’un de ses repères majeurs: le temps.

« À ce jour, il n’y aucune étude qui permettent de savoir ce qui se passe réellement dans nos cerveaux en situation réelle au moment où il le vit. Il y a eu peu d’occasions de mener des expériences scientifiques, dans des conditions aussi particulières que celle-ci », nous rappelle Christian Clot. « Cela nécessite des protocoles expérimentaux bien particulier, hors des laboratoires, avec des méthodologies novatrices mais bien éprouvées » selon Stéphane Besnard, l’un des directeurs scientifiques du projet.


C’est un succès à plusieurs égards. D’une part, pendant les 40 jours, plus de 50 protocoles scientifiques ont été réalisés, de la génétique aux perceptions olfactives. D’autre part, malgré des conditions environnementales difficiles (10°C et 100% d’humidité constante, sans lumière naturelle ni indicateurs de temps), la conception de la mission a rendu la vie du groupe possible et à montrer l’évolution d’un synchronicités collectives permettant la réalisation des différents travaux de la mission. L’énergie et la volonté de Christian Clot et ses équipiers ont fait le reste. C’est ainsi qu’ils sont arrivés ensemble au bout de la mission avec un certain plaisir et l’envie collective de la poursuivre.

AK7I1624.jpg

Conçue et dirigée par l’explorateur-chercheur Christian Clot pour l’Institut de l’Adaptation Humaine (Human Adaptation Institute) qui a été parmi les 15 sous terre, cette mission réunit une trentaine de scientifiques d’une douzaine d’organismes, qui ont mené des dizaines de protocoles avant, pendant et après ce confinement volontaire. Neurobiologiste, éthologue, généticienne, cardiologue, psychologue et autres, ils vont étudier ce groupe aussi bien de manière individuelle (plasticité cérébrale, rythme de vie, biologie, chronobiologie émotions…) que collective (fonctionnement de groupe, synchronicité, systèmes organisationnels…).

POURQUOI DEEP TIME ? 


À la suite des confinements et restrictions dus à la covid-19, qui ont plongé 70% dans des états de fatigues mentales légères ou profondes et fait perdre la notion du temps à près de 40% de personnes (covadapt, 2020), et alors que les changements seront de plus en plus profonds et nombreux dans le futur, il est nécessaire de mieux comprendre les mécanismes adaptatifs humains dans des situations réelles de vie. C’est le but des Grande Missions Adaptations, dont DEEP TIME fait partie.


Alors que les travaux conduits par le précurseur Michel Siffre ont permis de mieux comprendre les rythmes biologiques humains sur des individus isolés, cette expédition de recherche va permettre d’étudier le cerveau humain et son rapport au temps et sa plasticité face à une situation nouvelle de vie ainsi qu’un groupe mixte plutôt qu’une personne isolée, ce qui ne s’est encore jamais fait dans ces conditions. Nouvelles conditions de vie, installation sur de nouvelles planètes, travaux en conditions restreintes, et plus généralement gestion des changements profonds que les changements écologiques ou les nouvelles technologies pourraient nous faire subir sont des applications possibles des résultats des études menées au cours de DEEP TIME.


Une nécessité scientifique et sociale

Il est nécessaire, aujourd’hui, de mener des études en situation réelle, dont les sujets sont évaluer avant, pendant et après, permettant une évaluation précise de leur évolution face à ces conditions nouvelles. En milieu naturel, nous conservons la perception fine d’une vie réelle traduite via les émotions provoquées par l’environnement, notre sensorialité et notre aptitude à l’émerveillement !

Ces mises en contexte, in concreto, permettent des observations plus précises, prenant en compte l’ensemble sensoriel et émotif qui influence nos décisions et actions à chaque instant de nos vies. Le cadre choisi n'est pas anodin puisqu'il apporte des sensations naturelles qui sont capitales au moment de l'étude des humains lorsqu'ils sont placés dans de nouvelles conditions de vie, foncièrement déroutantes pour l'esprit et le corps.

Le camp de base, véritable démonstrateur des moyens d'installation d'un lieu de vie dans des endroits improbables, permet de mener nos protocoles en considérant de nombreux paramètres scientifiques clés. De même, nous bénéficions des outils les plus avancés pour mener à bien ce projet, ainsi que toute la rigueur nécessaire à la récolte de données qui feront avancer la recherche, notamment dans l'axe d'une meilleure appréhension d'un avenir potentiellement de plus en plus lié aux confinements de la société.

© Photo ADAPTATION INSTITUTE.jpg

Un groupe mixte et non professionnel 

Conduit par Christian Clot, ils étaient 7 femmes et 7 hommes de 27 à 50 ans à mener l’aventure. Choisi après un processus rigoureux, ils ne sont ni professionnel ni spécialiste des conditions difficiles, et viennent de différents milieux socioprofessionnels : responsable de communication, bijoutière, cordiste, analyste, enseignant, biologiste… Il est indispensable aujourd’hui de mener ces travaux sur des groupes mixtes, encore trop absents des protocoles scientifiques.


Pourquoi une grotte, pourquoi Lombrives?

Plutôt qu’un laboratoire ou un bunker, un milieu naturel permet de vivre des émotions sensorielles et un rapport réel à un écosystème tout en garantissant l’absence de repères temporels. Lombrives, plus grande grotte d’Europe, permet en outre de se déplacer, d’explorer dans un vaste territoire. Des notions fondamentales pour nos capacités d’adaptation.


À l’intérieur, des lieux de vies, de sciences et d’habitats sommaires ont été installés afin de créer des conditions de vie possible, et la grotte elle-même est un terrain de découverte important.